School Readiness Committee

Interested in serving on the School Readiness Committee?
The Secretary is currently considering applications for appointments to the Committee. If you are interested in serving, please submit an application online by May 3, 2018. Please note, Committee members serve staggered terms, only some of the committee slots are opening up for consideration this spring.

In July 2017, the School Readiness Committee adopted an inaugural set of recommendations. The Committee’s 2017 report summarizes their work over the last year and details the recommendations approved by the Committee.

SRC 2017 Report

History of the Committee

The School Readiness Committee was created by the 2016 General Assembly via HB 46. In recognition of the fact that one of the most important factors in learning outcomes for young children is the capabilities of the adults who support their growth and learning, the first goal of the Committee is to address the development and alignment of an effective professional development and credentialing system for the early childhood education workforce in the Commonwealth.

Additionally, the Committee will periodically review the goals and other priorities within the early childhood care and education systems and make recommendations to various policymakers.  

Committee Members

School Readiness Committee Members:

  • Maritsa Alger of Newport News, Principal, Norfolk Public Schools
  • Dr. Rosemary Burton of Woodbridge, Vice President of Accreditation and Industry Relations, Merit Academy
  • Dr. Irene Carney of Richmond, Executive Director, Sabot at Stony Point
  • Dr. Christopher Chin of Moseley, Director of Community Partnerships, Robins Foundation
  • Dr. Walter Clemons of Gloucester, Superintendent, Gloucester County Public Schools
  • Navine Fortune of Virginia Beach, Assistant Program Director and Instructor, Norfolk State University
  • Kathy Glazer of Richmond, President, Virginia Early Childhood Foundation
  • Mark Gordon of Richmond, CEO, Memorial Regional Medical Center, Richmond Community Hospital, and Rappahannock General Hospital, Bon Secours Health System
  • Dr. Bonnie Graham of Dublin, Professor and Program Head, Human Services and Early Childhood, New River Community College
  • Phillip Hawkins, Jr. of Norfolk, Teacher, Norfolk Public Schools
  • Lisa Howard of Norfolk, President and CEO, Elevate Early Education
  • Gail Johnson of Richmond, President and CEO, Rainbow Station
  • Andrew Ko of Loudoun, Managing Director, Global Education- Amazon Web Services
  • Rob Krupicka of Alexandria, former Delegate, Virginia House of Delegates
  • Henry Light of Norfolk, Member, State Council of Higher Education for Virginia
  • Shelley Lingamfelter of Woodbridge, retired teacher, Prince William County Public Schools
  • Toni Marchese of Arlington, Preschool Director and Teacher, St. Ann Catholic School
  • Dr. Sara Miller of Moseley, Assistant Professor, Longwood University
  • Dr. Craig Ramey of Roanoke, Professor of Human Development, Psychology and Pediatrics, Virginia Tech Carilion Research Institute
  • Dr. Christine Schull of Fairfax, Professor, Northern Virginia Community College
  • Walter Stosch of Glen Allen, former Senator, Senate of Virginia
  • Gary Thomson of Richmond, Regional Managing Partner, Mid-Atlantic, Dixon Hughes Goodman
  • Janet Turner-Giles of Afton, Member, Nelson County School Board
  • Anne-Marie Twohie of Reston, Director, Fairfax County Office for Children
  • Barry Weinstein of Fairfax, retired teacher, Fairfax County Public Schools 

Members of House of Delegates:

  • Delegate John Bell
  • Delegate Roxann Robinson

Members of Senate:

  • Senator Siobhan Dunnavant
  • Senator Adam Ebbin
  • Senator David Sutterlein

Ex Officio Members:

  • Dr. Steve Constantino, Virginia Interim Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • Duke Storen, Commissioner, Virginia Department of Social Services
  • Atif Qarni, Secretary of Education
  • Dr. Daniel Carey, Secretary of Health and Human Resources

Upcoming Meetings 

SRC Governance Meetings
All Governance meeting materials can be found online in the Dropbox via the link below:
SRC Governance Meeting Materials

  • Friday, June 1, 9-12 Noon, VECF Office

Compensation and Finance Subcommittee Meetings
All Compensation and Finance meeting materials can be found online in the Dropbox  via the link below:
Compensation and Finance Meeting Materials

  • Friday, June 1, 1-4pm, VECF Office

Subcommittee meetings are held at the Virginia Early Childhood Foundation’s Office. Please contact Rose Minor, 804-786-1151, for details. 

Full Committee Meetings

  • June 18, 11–3 pm: West Reading Room,  Patrick Henry Building, 1111 E. Broad St, Richmond VA 23219 

Past Meetings

All meeting materials can be found online in the SRC Dropbox via the link below: 
Meeting Materials

Full Committee Meetings

  • March 22, 1-4 pm: James Monroe Building, Conference Room B, Richmond VA (Agenda)
  • May 15, 9 -12: West Reading Room, Patrick Henry Building, 1111 E. Broad St, Richmond VA 23219 (Agenda)

SRC Governance Meetings

  • Monday, February 5, 1-4 pm (Agenda)
  • Friday, March 2, 1-4 pm (Agenda  )
  • Wed., April 12, 1-4 pm (Agenda )

Compensation and Finance Subcommittee Meetings

  • April 5 from 1-4 pm (Agenda)
  • February 23 from 1-4 pm (Agenda)

Standards Subcommittee Meetings (materials in the Dropbox online via the link below) 
Standards Subcommittee Meeting Materials

  • February 27 from 10-12 am


Committee Resources Dropbox (Note: this link takes you to an outside website)